A different dish

I was thinking of a dish to serve for dinner last night and I wanted to go vegetarian.  I have in my fridge a squash, chicken fillet and leeks…hmm what do you think I did?

I like experimenting though I have hard time accepting criticism and rejection, but that’s the thrill of experimenting you’ll never know the result until you finished it.

If my youngest sister would be the one to do the dinner she would make squash soup and believe me she does the best Zuppa di Zucca. It’s flavored with peanut butter and all-purpose cream, well she was tired and slept till dinner time so I had no choice but to consult my best friend – GOOGLE !!! I typed in the ingredients that I have and viola!!! the squash soup kept appearing…my ego would get bashed up when  my other sister would come home from work and taste my cooking, she is the best critique  ever.

Then I found a recipe called Squash Lasagna (drooling the instant I saw the picture of lasagna). So here is what I did… I changed lasagna with macaroni (that’s what I have kept in the cupboard) and did not baked it… I sautéed  bits of chicken fillet in butter added some leeks, seasoned it with pepper and salt, tossed in the diced squash ( its natural juices were combined with the flavorings and butter) then I added some water as the squash softens mash it up and add the macaroni, add more water until the pasta is cook. Add cheese , dried oregano, rosemary,  basil and all-purpose cream. Constantly stirring until everything is well incorporated.  The end product was good and nutritious, it’s too rich though for my kids and sisters’ palate that you’d want something fried and salty with it… like a  deep-fried breaded fish fillets. The dinner turned out quite well.  That’s one healthy adventure for me that I’d definitely do all over again….

Leave a Reply

